News & Events

Dr. Jennifer Aranzamendez

2022 was an exciting year for the Philippine Society for Gynecologic Endoscopy. The Division of Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility of the Philippine General Hospital hosted the first of five Grand Rounds scheduled for the year with a case of “Laparoscopic Approach in the Management of Interstitial Pregnancy”. The Grand Rounds started in 2021 when Dr. Maria Antonia Habana assumed office as President of the Society with Dr. Jennifer Aranzamendez as Chair of the Ad Hoc Committee on Grand Rounds. Among the objectives of the Grand rounds is to encourage exchange and sharing of ideas, experiences and practices among MIGS training Centers. The Grand Rounds was initially participated by the three accredited training institutions for MIGS namely, East Avenue Medical Center (EAMC), Quirino Memorial Medical Center (QMMC), and Southern Philippines Medical Center (SPMC). This year, training institutions for REI joined this activity, namely, the Philippine General Hospital (PGH) and St. Luke’s Medical Center (SLMC). Here are the presented cases of the five hospitals in this year’s Grand Rounds and the 3rd Tripartite Webinar which will be hosted by East Avenue Medical Center:

Alternating monthly with the Grand Rounds were the CME webinars facilitated by Dr. Gladys Tanangonan, Chair of the CME Committee. We had a total of 8 webinars, 4 of which were hosted by our colleagues, Dr. Gladys Tanangonan for NCR, Dr. Marcela Dianalyn Sazon-Carlos for Luzon, Dr. Belinda Pañares for Visayas and Dr. Paula Cynthia Cruz-Limlengco for Mindanao:

PSGE continued to actively participate in international webinars hosted by the Asia Pacific Association for Gynecologic Endoscopy (APAGE) and the Asia Pacific Gynecological Endoscopy Training Group (APGET).

The Annual Congress and 18th Anniversary Celebration of PSGE entitled “Expanding Horizon in MIGS”, was held virtually last July 13-14, 2022 with Dr. Regina Paz Tan-Espiritu as Over-all Chair, and Dr. Regta Pichay as Head of the Scientific Committee. International faculty included Dr. Mauricio Abrao, Dr. Rudy Leon de Wilde, Dr. Rajesh Devassy, Dr. Chyi-Long Lee, Dr. Rosanne Kho, and Dr. Margaux Jegaden. The Congress also featured stellar local faculty namely, Dr. Delfin Tan, Dr. Maria Antonia Habana, Dr. Angela Aguilar, Dr. Prudence Aquino, Dr. Ma. Jesusa Banal-Silao and Dr. Arby Jane Igualada. For the first time, a Young APAGE Group (YAG) session was held in our country with Dr. Renee Vina Sicam, Dr. Chutatip Poonsatta, and Dr. Aizura Aidan as panelists.

During the Annual Congress, SCOPE: Surgical Competency on Pelvic Endoscopy, was also launched. SCOPE is an online self-paced program available in the PSGE website for free. It hopes to supplement the residents’ learning experience in minimally invasive gynecologic surgery (MIGS). The course is available until December 2024 and is based on the approved residency curriculum for gynecologic endoscopy. This is in line with the CREED and PBOG implementation of the integration of MIGS in residency starting 2021 (CREED-PBOG resolution 2021-001). Experts in the field serve as faculty in SCOPE which can be accessed thru this site:

The Society recently participated in the APAGE and Taiwan Association for Minimally Invasive Gynecology (TAMIG) Annual Congress with our very own president, Dr. Maria Antonia Habana delivering a keynote lecture on “Hysteroscopy Among Infertile Women” last October 1, 2022. Dr. Prudence Aquino and Dr. Renee Vina Sicam were also invited to deliver lectures. Presenters in the YAG Session included Dr. Isabela Alexa Martiez (EAMC), Dr. Ricca Mae Cagalawan (SPMC) Dr. Krista Marie Pacifico (SLMC) and Dr. Mikaela Erlinda Bucu (PGH). Other papers accepted were those of Dr. Sigrid Barinaga (SPMC) and Dr. Renne Laudato (PGH).

Finally, after two years of the pandemic, the PSGE was again ably represented in a face-to-face international congress. Dr. Habana was invited to give a lecture on “Enhancing Gynecologic Residency Training with the Introduction of Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery” in the European Society for Gynecologic Endoscopy (ESGE) 31st Annual Congress at Lisbon, Portugal. The papers of Dr. Anna Katrina Estacio and Dr. Zoraida Umipig-Guevara (EAMC) were accepted for oral presentation and Dr. Mikaela Erlinda Bucu and Dr. Regina Paz Tan-Espiritu (PGH) for video presentation.

PSGE also participated in this year’s POGS Annual Convention Pre-Convention webinar entitled “New Directions in Hysteroscopy” with Dr. Regta Pichay, Dr. Bao-Liang Lin, Dr. Paula Cynthia CruzLimlengco, Dr. Regina Paz Tan-Espiritu, Dr. Angela Aguilar and Dr. Zoraida Umipig-Guevara as speakers. This was held last October 20, 2022. There will likewise be a simultaneous session on the “Essential Steps in Gynecologic Endoscopy” on November 10, 2022 during the POGS Annual Convention.

This year, there were 4 inducted Fellows in Laparoscopy and Hysteroscopy namely, Dr. Diana Rose Amodia, Dr. Emille Teresa Apepe, Dr. Maryrose Mateo and Dr. Belle Marie Pañares. There were 2 inducted Fellows in Hysteroscopy only namely, Dr. Mary Karen Atanacio and Dr. Aurora Eugene Quiambao. There were 4 inducted Fellows in Laparoscopy only namely, Dr. Amity Casurao-Trono, Dr. Sheryl Ann dela Cruz, Dr. Janina Yvette Go and Dr. Dianne Manzano. PSGE will be conducting a Step 1 Hybrid workshop on Nov 26-27, 2022 facilitated by Dr. Angela Aguilar and a Training the Trainers workshop on Nov 26, 2022, facilitated by Dr. Prudence Aquino.

As we usher in a New Year, we would like to welcome our Board of Trustees for 2023-2024!

Dr. Regina Paz A. Tan-Espiritu President
Dr. Gladys G. Tanangonan Vice-President
Dr. Marinella Agnes G. Abat Secretary
Dr. Marcela Dianalyn Sazon-Carlos Assistant Secretary
Dr. Chiaoling Sua Lao Treasurer
Dr. Ma. Lourdes R. Abeleda Assistant Treasurer
Dr. Leedah Rañola-Nisperos P.R.O.
Dr. Marie Janice Alcantara-Boquiren Board Member
Dr. Angelica Anne A. Chua Board Member
Dr. Belinda N. Pañares Board Member
Dr. Ma. Regale Noemi O. Sotto Board Member

We look forward to everyone’s continued support!